Community leadership and guidance

Community Leadership

Members of the Board bring their diverse skills and experience to guide HOPES in its mission. They generously volunteer their time and serve without compensation, and over half are also patients at HOPES. To contact a Board member, please call HOPES at (775) 786-4673.


Douglas H. Brewer, CFP – President
Senior Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch

Scott Brenneke – Vice President
Owner, Advanced Asset Management, Inc.

Abigail Stephenson – Secretary

Chris Bosse – Treasurer
Vice President, Government Relations, Renown Health

The Community Foundation of Western Nevada awarded the 100 percent Giving Board Award to Northern Nevada HOPES in 2018. Thanks to the HOPES executive board for their 100 percent financial support.


Trudy Larson, M.D. | Co-Founder of Northern Nevada HOPES
Dean Emeritus, School of Public Health, UNR; Professor
Nevada State Board of Health

Bruce Breslow
Owner, Nevada Strategies

Theresa Navarro
Consumer Advocate
Northern Nevada HOPES

Todd Felts, Ed.D
Reynolds School of Journalism Professor
University of Nevada, Reno

Patricia Gallimore 
NAACP Reno-Sparks Branch

Par Tolles
Founder and Principal
Tolles Development Company

Karen Massey, MHA, FACMPE, CPMSM
Executive Director
Northern Nevada Emergency Physicians

Stephen Allen
Early Head Start, Child Care Worker
University of Nevada, Renor

Tom Durante, LCSW
Behavioral Health Professional

Karen Witherow
Consumer Advocate
Northern Nevada HOPES